Somerset Times

2017 Somerset Rowing Dinner




Somerset Times Edition

Week 5, Term Four, 2017

Print this Article

Print Page

The Somerset Rowing fraternity gathered recently in the Ray Dining Room to celebrate the 2017 rowing season and to acknowledge rowers, coaches and supports for their efforts across the year. Outgoing captains, Ryan McClure and Talia Varcoe hosted the evening, recapping on the many competitions from local through to national level as well as the Queensland Championships where Somerset finished 5th on the medal tally.

Club president Karen Neumann thanked the parents and supporters for their efforts in successful fundraising efforts, such as hosting the Somerset Regatta, the highly successful Trivia Night as well as the Corporate Challenge, all of which allow us to continue to provide excellent equipment for our rowers. She also thanked the parents for the many ways that they support their children and the rowing program, from selling uniforms, welcoming new members and for running the rowers all over the state and sometimes the country.

For me as Head Coach the evening provided an excellent opportunity not reflect not only on the success that our crews have achieved on the water, but also to reflect on the journey that our rowers progress on. From the first time they wrestle the large boats down to the water for their first session, to confidently being responsible for loading the expensive equipment that we take to each regatta, communicating with their crew members and competing with distinction at the regattas.

It would not be possible to cater to the 80 students who participated in the rowing program without the support of a great team of coaches and the evening was a great opportunity to thank, Mr Greg Juniper, Nick McKinnon, David Parkinson, Edward Burrows-Cheng and Nicholas Miller for the efforts that they have made in coaching the rowers in 2017.

The evening culminated in the presentation of awards to the recipients as well as the announcement of the 2018 Rowing Captains. Mr Bassingthwaighte joined me in congratulating Katherine Plume and Blake Mills on their appointment as captains and I look forward to woring with them to lead the Somerset rowing team next year.

2017 Rowing Award Recipients

Year 8 Boy’s - Most Competitive Rower – Fergus McKeon

Year 8 Boy’s - Team Commitment Award – Austin Macrossan

Year 9 Boy’s - Most Competitive Rower – Anthony McKenna

Year 9 Boy’s - Team Commitment Award – Thomas Liu

Year 10 Boy’s - Most Competitive Rower – Declan Thew

Year 10 Boy’s - Team Commitment Award – Joe Lanham

Year 8 Girl’s - Most Competitive Rower – Emma Wilson

Year 8 Girl’s - Team Commitment Award – Tenaysha Thomasson

Year 9 Girl’s - Most Competitive Rower – Nina Varcoe

Year 9 Girl’s - Team Commitment Award – Cassidy Fifield

Year 10 Girl’s - Team Commitment Award – Zara Smith

2017 Coach’s Male Award – Aidan McKeon

2017 Coach’s Female Award – Jade Mansell

2017 Most Outstanding Competitor – Declan Thew

The Plume Family Trophy - Coxswain of the Year - 2017 – Alexander Taylor-Girdler

2018 Rowing Captain – Katherine Plume and Blake Mills

2017 Brian Carey Memorial Award - Parental Support – Carl Eksteen

Quin Quennis Award - 5 Years of Rowing

Ryan McClure

Maximilien Jeanneret-Gris

« Back to Index