Somerset Times

State Championship Success for Rowers




Somerset Times Edition

Week 1, Term Four, 2017

Print this Article

Print Page

Somerset rowers scored three gold medals at the recent Queensland Schools Rowing Championships which was held Rockhampton at the beginning of the school holidays. Blake Mills and Aidan McKeon started the flow of medals by claiming gold in the Year 11 Boy’s Pair.

The duo led from the front in the 2000 metre race and held on to win the gold medal in a time of 7 minutes and 53 seconds, slightly more than one second ahead of the silver medallists.

Thomas Liu was the first ever Somerset representative in the Paralympic style Legs Trunk and Arms Single scull race where he was crowned Queensland Champion. Despite having cerebral palsy which challenges his fine motor skills, Tom has rowed the past two season in the abled-body events and his Year 9 team mates proudly chaired him up to the dais to claim his Gold medal, which was a fitting reward for the effort that he has put in to his rowing.

The course was majorly affected by wind by the time the Year 10 boy’s four final was held and in spite of being drawn in the most difficult lane, Thomas McKenna, Julius Wright, Joe Lanham, Declan Thew, along with their coxswain Jackson Fifield dominated the event from start to finish, covering the 1500 meter race in 5 minutes 27 to win by more than 4 seconds.

To add to the medal tally Somerset crews claimed three silver medals in the Girl’s Year 11 Pair, Boy’s Open Pair and Boy’s Open Four. To round out the spread of medals the Year 11 boys also claimed a bronze in the four.

More than 40 students represented the College at the championships and I would like to extend a big thank you to Mr Greg Juniper and Mr Nicholas McKinnon for their coaching and support to ensure that the regatta ran smoothly for all of the students.


Boy’s Year 11 Pair; Blake Mills, Aidan McKeon Boy’s Para Single Scull; Thomas Liu Boy’s Year 10 Four; Thomas McKenna, Julius Wright, Joe Lanham, Declan Thew, Cox: Jackson Fifield


Girl’s Year 11 Pair; Jade Mansell, Katherine Plume Boy’s Open Four; Aidan McKeon, Blake Mills, Ryan McClure, Lorenz Muhlbauer, Cox: Jackson Fifield Boy’s Open Pair; Ryan McClure, Lorenz Muhlbauer


Blake Mills, Aidan McKeon, Marc Eksteen, Lachie Munro, Cox: Jackson Fifield

« Back to Index