Somerset Times

2020 Wallas-Bassingthwaighte Netball Trophy




Somerset Times Edition

Week 8, Term Three, 2020

Print this Article

Print Page

Our Somerset Open A Netball team prepared for their APS clash on Friday against All Saints, knowing that the Headmasters' Trophy was up for grabs for 2020. The trophy has been an annual contest between the two schools since 2016 and while it was won by All Saints that year, Somerset has since held it in our trophy cabinet.

With Somerset retaining only four players from 2019, the 2020 team consists of four Year 9s, two Year 10s and three 11s with no Year 12s for the first time in many years.

The inexperienced side challenged All Saints to a practise round a few weeks earlier taking the win by 12 goals, their closest game for the season. Both teams sit on top of the table unbeaten going into Round 7 of the APS competition.

With the first centre pass underway the two teams starting strongly, displaying skill and accuracy. Our young Somerset team was relentless on defence, putting on a lot of pressure through court disrupting the All Saints attack and gaining valuable possession and converting. It was a clean, well umpired match that both teams contested showing great skill and athleticism.

The Somerset girls were just too good though,with some outstanding shooting from Charli Pearse and Amaris Toia and brilliant defending by Ellie Muir backed up by Bayley D’Hotman De Villiers and Georgia Wilson. The midcourt was just to classy for the opposition with the speed of Atlanta Horan and on point feeding from Jemma Clements. Substitutes Marika Ransfield and Trinity Toia finished the game with solid performances in a great team effort and a memorable win of 47 to 28.

Congratulations team – it is great to hold the trophy for another year!

Our thanks goes out to the College IT team who arranged a livestream to the parents and to Mr Bassingthwaighte, Mrs McKenna and the College Leadership team for their ongoing support.

Just one more APS game to win against TLC and the Open A team will win their fourth consecutive APS Premiership!

C’mon Girls!

« Back to Index