Somerset Times

Rowers Celebrate 2016 Season




Somerset Times Edition

Week 4,
Term Four, 2016

Print this Article

Print Page

Over 150 rowers, parents, teachers and coaches celebrated the 2016 Rowing season. Rowing Captains Olivia Sina and Reuben Mansell did a spectacular job of emceeing the evening, recognising the students from Years 8 to 12 who competed in regattas starting in Taree in January and culminating in the Queensland Schools State Championships in Bundaberg in September.

The night was a culmination of the whole Rowing community, with Rowing Club President and parent Carl Eksteen recognising the wonderful fundraising efforts from of the committee including the Trivia Night, Somerset Regatta, Corporate Rowing Challenge and also the parents and Alumni. On behalf of the Club he also recognised the support of the College in their backing to purchase of a new fleet of 16 single sculls as well as a brand new quad scull. To add to that, the Club won a boat as a prize at the Head of the Tweed Rowing Marathon which has been the catalyst for acquiring two brand new double sculls.

Mr Andrew Butler with 2016 and 2017 Rowing Captains.

The night was an opportunity to reminisce over the humorous and serious aspects of the year and also for the Year 12 students who have been in the programme to reflect on their Rowing career at the College and to receive the Quin Quennis Award for 5 years’ service to Rowing. The rowers also took the opportunity to thank their parents who have supported them in so many ways throughout the year. They also thanked the coaches, Mr Nick McKinnon, Mr Greg Juniper, Mr David Parkinson and past students who coach in the programme, Alison Barry, Andrew Hodges, and Anja Stols.

I would like to congratulate Ryan McClure and Talia Varcoe on their appointment as the 2017 Rowing Captains and I look forward to working with them both next year.

2016 Rowing Award Recipients

  • Year 8 Boys Coach’s Encouragement Award 2016 – Anthony McKenna
  • Year 9 Boys Coach’s Encouragement Award 2016 – Julius Wright
  • Year 10 Boys Coach’s Encouragement Award 2016 – Aidan McKeon
  • Year 8 Girls Coach’s Encouragement Award 2016 – Nina Varcoe
  • Year 9 Girls Coach’s Encouragement Award 2016 – Rebecca Zielinski
  • Year 10 Girls Coach’s Encouragement Award 2016 – Jade Mansell
  • Coach’s Male Award - Lorenz Muhlbauer
  • Coach’s Female Award - Katherine Plume
  • Most Outstanding Competitor – Lachlan Munro
  • The Plume Family Trophy - Coxswain of the Year – Blake Mills
  • Brian Carey Memorial Award – Parent Support and Spirit - Mrs Jacqui Sina
  • Rowing Captains – Talia Varcoe and Ryan McClure

Quin Quennis Award

  • Jake Happé
  • Elizabeth Kay
  • Jaylan Khatri
  • Reuben Mansell
  • Declan Roberts
  • Olivia Sina
  • Finlay Walton
« Back to Index