Leadership and Board

The College Leadership Team 

The Headmaster is responsible for the vision and strategic direction of Somerset College. Our College Leadership Team work together to achieve common strategic goals and provide leadership in their areas of responsibility within the College. 

Craig Bassingthwaighte

Headmaster | MA (Griffith), BEd Studies (Qld), BA, Dip T, FACE, FCEOI, MACEL

Read More

Craig is the third Headmaster of Somerset and joined the College from Whitsunday Anglican School at Mackay where he was Principal. Before this he was Deputy Principal of Trinity Anglican School in Cairns and Director of Admissions and Master of McKinley House at The Southport School. He has taught at The Hotchkiss School, Connecticut, USA and St Anne's School, Windermere, UK. He has taught Senior English, Literature and Media Studies for many years. As Headmaster, Craig is the chief executive of the College. He is appointed by the College Board and is responsible to the Board for the proper conduct, management and discipline of the College.

Mr Nicholas Brice

Deputy Headmaster | B Ed, B Arts

Read More

Nicholas is the College’s fourth Deputy Headmaster. Previously he was the Head of Senior School at Pulteney Grammar School in Adelaide, where he had responsibility for both Pastoral and Academic programmes in Years 10, 11 and 12. He previously was responsible for the Middle Years Programme at Concordia College.

Mr David Thornton

Chief Operating Officer | BA(Hons), MBA (AGSM), CA (ICAA, ICAEW)

Read More

David commenced at the College in January 2013. He is responsible to the Headmaster for the financial operations of the College and the management of accounting staff.

Mrs Allison Foster

Head of Senior School | M Arts, B Arts, Dip Ed, Grad Dip Public Relations

Read More

Allison joined the staff of Somerset College in 2006 as a teacher in the Senior School, teaching English and Humanities. In 2008, Allison was appointed Head of House – Franklin. In 2018, she was appointed to the role of Head of Senior School. Allison is responsible for overseeing the pastoral care of all students in Years 7 to 12. She also oversees the pastoral care and wellbeing programmes in the Senior School, as well as coordinates the International Baccalaureate Middle Years' Programme.

Ms Rebecca Collie

Head of Junior School | M Ed, B Ed, B Teach, GKIHSM

Read More

Rebecca joined the staff of Somerset College in 2018 as Head of Junior School. Rebecca was previously Assistant Head of Junior School Years 3 to 6, Pastoral and Curriculum, at All Saints Anglican School. Prior to that, Rebecca worked with Education Queensland for 20 years in a variety of teaching and leadership positions, in schools across Logan and the Gold Coast. As Head of Junior School, Rebecca is responsible for overseeing pastoral care and curriculum, working with staff, students and parents, to ensure the efficient and effective operation of the Junior School.

Mrs Michele Sauer

Dean of Studies | M Ed, GAICD, B Ed, DipT, MACE

Read More

Michele joined the staff of the Junior School at Somerset College in 1985. In 1993, Michele was appointed as Year 7 Co-ordinator and in 1998 she was appointed Junior School Curriculum Co-ordinator. She was promoted to Head of Department - Junior Curriculum in 2003 and was Deputy – Junior School from 2003 to 2013. From 2014 to 2020, Michele was Dean of Middle Years. In Michele's role she is responsible for the curriculum and academic leadership in the Senior School and co-ordinates the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme.

Mr John Bacon

Dean of Admissions | BSc(Hons), DipEd, Grad Dip Ed Admin, FEdplus

Read More

John joined the staff of Somerset College in 2003 from Melbourne Girls Grammar School. John is responsible to the Headmaster for enrolments and admissions of new students into the College. He also oversees all aspects of community relations, alumni, publicity and promotion of the College. As the Dean of Admissions, John works closely with the Headmaster in relation to the College Foundation.

Mr Craig Sayer

Dean of Activities | B Ed, DipT (Phys Ed)

Read More

Craig joined the staff of Somerset College in 1988. He held the positions of Subject Master — Physical Education, House Master and Director of Sport until 1999. After seven years in Hong Kong, Craig returned to Somerset College in 2008. He is responsible for student activities within the College and overall responsibility for outdoor education programme in the Senior School. The Dean of Activities also acts as the Headmaster's representative in the Somerset Rowing, Tennis and Swim Clubs.

Ms Lisa Thomson

Dean of Information Technologies | M Ed, BA, GradDip, MACEL

Read More

Lisa is the inaugural Dean of Information Technologies, having commenced in 2011. Lisa was previously Head of Information Technology at Toowoomba Grammar School. She is responsible for the strategic development, implementation and support of curriculum and system wide information technologies in the College, as well as leading the College's library services.

The College Board

The College Board has responsibility for the governance of Somerset College in finances, buildings and grounds, and policy. Its most important task is to appoint the Headmaster to manage the operations of the College. The Board discharges its responsibilities through its regular meetings, including its Committees, and by supporting and monitoring the performance of the Headmaster. All contact with the Board is through the Headmaster’s Office. Somerset College is a separately incorporated not for profit company limited by guarantee.

Mr Anthony Hickey OAM

Chair of the Board

Mr Peter Trimble

Deputy Chair of the Board

Mrs Penelope Thurnwald

Chair of Governance Committee

Mr Bede Young

Chair of Foundation Committee

Mr Jason Cordner (Class of 1990)

Chair of Finance Committee

Ms Amanda Appel (Class of 2003)

Board Member

Mr Simon Chan

Board Member

Ms Alisha Swain

Board Member